What happens when you block someone?

Posted on 16 October 2015

BBC Newsbeat have produced a helpful guide about what people can still see after you've blocked them; helping you stay in control of your privacy. 

The full article covers Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and WhatsApp, and highlights how there are still situtations where you can see each other's information, for example:

  • In apps or groups on Facebook you might still be able to interact or see each other's posts
  • If your account is public on Instagram or Twitter, then they could log out of their account to view your profile 
  • Even if you block someone on WhatsApp they will be able to see your phone number, but you can contact your mobile provider to block their number.

Check out the video summary from Newsbeat:

  • first
  • prev